Finally…

Fuggle

Fuggle

The hops have started to arrive!

After another non-summer, I wasn’t expecting much from my 5 plants. During a brief heatwave in May, they were looking ebulient. This year is the year, I thought to myself. Since then, we’ve had slightly above average temperatures but massive amounts of rain. Some powdery mildew developed, along with some downey mildew on the Fuggle.

Challenger

Challenger

July and onwards, after taking care of the mildew, many of the leaves look on a brown discolouration. I have no idea what this is, possibly some nutrient deficiency, but it has been persistant year on year. I’m right on the outer cusp of the prime hop growing latitude (55.67, roughly the same as Moscow). Nevertheless, it is a fun experiment.

Progress

Progress

I’ve heard they grow hops in the Clyde Valley a few miles from where I am, which probably has a more favourable microclimate. I may take a drive out there at some point to see if I can take a few cuttings and maybe pick up a few tips.

5 comments

  1. Oblivious · August 28, 2009

    Look’en good. it would be interesting to see what type of hops they are growing in the Clyde Valley

    Here are some of mine

  2. Geoff · August 28, 2009

    They’re looking nearly developed, O, what part of Ireland are you in ?

  3. Oblivious · September 2, 2009

    I am in Dublin, but it will be nearer the end of the month before I brew again

  4. Fiercely Fuzzy · September 10, 2009

    I’m growing some First Gold hops in Wishaw which is not to far from the Clyde Valley. The cones are really thickening up at the moment. Amazing considering all the rain we’ve had…

  5. Geoff · September 10, 2009

    Brilliant, who would’ve thought they’d grow in Wishaw. Probably the wettest part of Scotland!

    My cones are thickening up too, but not looking particularly impressive.

Leave a Reply

