Thrift

Yesterday, I pooled all the coppers I owned into a bag.

Bugger me if it didnt amount to £29!

Just enough for a bottle of Talisker 10 year old.

And damned tasty it is too. A marvellous whisky for the price. I completely understand the affinity between cigars and Scottish whisky now. The aroma reminded me of chewing cherry flavoured tobacco and gave me an instant nicotine craving, despite not having smoked in about three years. Wonderful! Now where are those Romeo y Julieta Churchills…

4 comments

  1. Paul Garrard · August 8, 2008

    I’m partial to the odd glass of single malt, but don’t tell anyone.

  2. Wez · August 9, 2008

    Totally get you on the cigar thing, was in cuba a few years back, nothing like sitting back with a decent whisky with a decent cigar. We did visit a few cigar ‘factories’ and can confirm that they are not rolled on the thigh of a virgin, well at least the 45 year old sweaty fat bloke that was rolling them when I was there didn’t look like he was unfarmiliar with the odd adult practice..or two!

    Enjoy that bottle 😉

  3. Velky Al · October 13, 2008

    To my mind the Talisker 10 year is the ideal whisky for weaning people away from blended stuff – wanted to say “crap” but have to concede that some blends are ok I guess. The 18 year old Talisker is also a wonderful whisky, even smoother and more rounded.

  4. Geoff · October 13, 2008

    I took a trip to Skye to visit the distillery a few weeks ago and bought one of their cask strength bottles – now that was a damn fine dram.

    I actually picked up a decent blend the other day, Black Bottle from Bunnahabin. For the £11 they charge for it, you can’t argue. Lots of vanilla and oak, very tasty.

Leave a Reply

