Rauchbier!

I brewed a Rauchbier to serve in Glasgow on the 30th. The recipe is here. I went with a fairly restrained one third of the grist Rauchmalz. The stuff is the genuine Weyermann Beechwood smoked malt from Bamberg which you simply could not do without when making this beer. The hops are Northern Brewer and Hallertau Hersbrucker.

The mash smelled amazing. A good amount of smoke flavour carried through into the wort but it wasn’t overpowering. I wonder how smoky it will end up. As far as I’m concerned, the smokier the better, but I want other people to enjoy this one too so it should be fairly restrained.

Here’s a collection of random end of brewday clips. I pitched in some Czech Budejovice yeast which is either Budvar or Pivovar yeast. There is no better lager yeast in my opinion. It gets the job done quickly and reliably with a very clean flavour and no diacetyl. It is a bit of a sulphur producer but this dissipates quickly. I finished off the day with a few of my single hop (Columbus) IPAs. Still a little green. Still very orangey/piney.

10 comments

  1. Oblivious · March 25, 2010

    Very nice ,how long did you oxygenate for?

  2. Geoff · March 25, 2010

    About a minute and a half. It took off like a rocket with the yeast slurry – got a good feeling about this one!

  3. Michael Ironside · March 25, 2010

    Looks great. Where did you get all the brewing equipment from? Looking to get some stuff for Stirling Uni Craft Beer Society.

    Ps love the song :-)

  4. Geoff · March 25, 2010

    I made it out of 70L stock pots from ebay and various plumbing supplies, pumps and kettle elements.

    Also Hop & Grape is a good resource for brewing equipment and expertise: http://www.hopandgrape.co.uk/

    Lastly, I recommend Jim’s Beer Kit as a resource for getting into brewing: http://www.jimsbeerkit.co.uk/forum/

  5. Michael Ironside · March 25, 2010

    Thanks. Beer looking on Jim’s beer Kit for ideas.

    Cheers for your help

  6. BeerBirraBier · March 25, 2010

    What was the hop schedule like? Be interesting to know because with beers like this Im guessing you don’t want any hop aroma or flavaour at all. Did you just use bittering hops and nothing else?

    Chunk.

  7. Geoff · March 25, 2010

    Almost, I bittered with some Northern Brewer and just a very small amount of Hallertau with 15 minutes to go. It will barely be noticeable after lagering probably. The smoke is quite impressive from tasting out of the fermenter, more than I expected!

  8. Bosium · March 25, 2010

    Where did you get the O2 cylinder from?

  9. Geoff · March 25, 2010

    I got it from a website, Weld UK. I should be able to bottle you one of these Bosium if you fancy it?

  10. Bosium · March 25, 2010

    Just read your reply now, thanks! Will look into getting one of those, been worried about under-aeration for some time now and I’m not convinced that my aquarium pump is doing the business. Also, if I leave it on for more than a few minutes at a time, I get so much foam that I have to turn it off and wait for the foam to go down!

Leave a Reply

